New book displays are located near the reference area of the library.
New book displays are located near the reference area of the library.
NEW MATERIALS IN THE LIBRARY COLLECTION
Added August 2019
The Federal Impeachment Process
by Michael J. Gerhardt
Call Number: KF4958.G47 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-12
As President Trump and Congressional Democrats battle over the findings of the Mueller report, talk of impeachment is in the air. But what are the grounds for impeaching a sitting president? Who is subject to impeachment? Is impeachment effective as a safeguard against presidential misconduct? What challenges does today's highly partisan political climate pose to the impeachment process, and what, if any, meaningful alternatives are there for handling presidential misconduct? For more than twenty years, The Federal Impeachment Process has served as the most complete analysis of the constitutional and legal issues raised in every impeachment proceeding in American history. Impeachment, Michael J. Gerhardt shows, is an inherently political process designed to expose and remedy political crimes--serious breaches of duty or injuries to the Republic. Subject neither to judicial review nor to presidential veto, it is a unique congressional power that involves both political and constitutional considerations, including the gravity of the offense charged, the harm to the constitutional order, and the link between an official's misconduct and duties. For this third edition, Gerhardt updates the book to cover cases since President Clinton, as well as recent scholarly debates. He discusses the issues arising from the possible impeachment of Donald Trump, including whether a sitting president may be investigated, prosecuted, and convicted for criminal misconduct or whether impeachment and conviction in Congress is the only way to sanction a sitting president; what the "Emoluments Clause" means and whether it might provide the basis for the removal of the president; whether gross incompetence may serve as the basis for impeachment; and the extent to which federal conflicts of interest laws apply to the president and other high ranking officials. Significantly updated, this book will remain the standard work on the federal impeachment process for years to come.
The ABCs of Law School
by Teresa Power (Other)
Call Number: KF287.P69 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-10
Spoiler Alert: Law school can be overwhelming and stressful. The good news? You're not alone. The ABCs of Law School: Diary of a First Year Student shares all of the inside tips and tricks you need to survive and thrive, direct from someone who has been there, done that, and succeeded. The ABCs of Law School: Diary of a First Year Student is the newest book by bestselling, award-winning author, Teresa Power, JD. It offers access into the inner workings of law school, as told by an actual student. This easy to read guidebook provides a concise overview of the major core topics covered, as well as strategies on how to prepare for class, study for exams, and manage stress. Perfect for anyone considering, starting, or in law school! Book jacket.
by Dirk Davidek; Beverly Davidek
Call Number: KF300.D38 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-12
You seem to have it all. A beautiful family, a nice house, new cars, and an enviable job. But now that you have it all, something feels... off. Your law career has become horribly soul-sucking. You're managing your life, sort of, but you feel duped. Trapped. Your "good job" is affecting your health and relationships, and you're just trying to keep all the plates spinning. Beverly Davidek has been there. Here's the good news: You can find a job that helps you provide for your family while giving you happiness, satisfaction, and peace of mind. If you are still struggling to find a way to provide for your family without losing yourself, this book is for you. Part Ask and It Is Given and part What Color Is Your Parachute? (but written for lawyers), Happy Lawyer gives you the tools you need to get unstuck in your career and start living your dream.
A Dictionary of Oil and Gas Industry Terms
by Peter Roberts
Call Number: K3914.6.R63 2019
Publication Date: 2019-03-24
This dictionary is a guide to the various legal, regulatory, technical, commercial and financial acronyms, terms and phrases used in today's international oil and gas industry. Written by a leading expert in the field, this portable, concise and comprehensive dictionary is invaluable to areader navigating the industry for the first time or requiring a greater insight.The Energy Institute has provided invaluable assistance in compiling the dictionary with a review of the technical sections.The dictionary is divided into three sections: commonly-used acronyms, an A to Z definition of terms and phrases and a series of technical appendices which summarise certain essential aspects of the industry.
Comparative Judicial Politics
by Mary L. VOLCANSEK
Call Number: K2100.V65 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-18
Comparative Judicial Politics synthesizes the now extensive scholarly work on judicial politics from around the world, focusing on legal traditions, lawyers, judges, constitutional review, international and transnational courts, and the impact and legitimacy of courts. It offers typologies where relevant and intentionally raises questions to challenge readers' preconceptions of "best" practices.
Authors and Apparatus
by Monika Dommann; Sarah Pybus (Translator)
Call Number: K1420.5.D6613 2019
Publication Date: 2019-03-15
Copyright is under siege. From file sharing to vast library scanning projects, new technologies, actors, and attitudes toward intellectual property threaten the value of creative work. However, while digital media and the Internet have made making and sharing perfect copies of original works almost effortless, debates about protecting authors' rights are nothing new. In this sweeping account of the evolution of copyright law since the mid-nineteenth century, Monika Dommann explores how radical media changes--from sheet music and phonographs to photocopiers and networked information systems--have challenged and transformed legal and cultural concept of authors' rights. Dommann provides a critical transatlantic perspective on developments in copyright law and mechanical reproduction of words and music, charting how artists, media companies, and lawmakers in the United States and western Europe approached the complex tangle of technological innovation, intellectual property, and consumer interests. From the seemingly innocuous music box, invented around 1800, to BASF's magnetic tapes and Xerox machines, she demonstrates how copyright has been continuously destabilized by emerging technologies, requiring new legal norms to regulate commercial and private copying practices. Without minimizing digital media's radical disruption to notions of intellectual property, Dommann uncovers the deep historical roots of the conflict between copyright and media--a story that can inform present-day debates over the legal protection of authorship.
Eyes on the Prize
by Jason J. Kilborn
Call Number: KF9025.K537 2019
Publication Date: 2019-07-03
by Alejandro Camacho; Robert Glicksman
Call Number: KF5407.C36 2019
Publication Date: 2019-08-27
A pioneering model for constructing and assessing government authority and achieving policy goals more effectively Regulation is frequently less successful than it could be, largely because the allocation of authority to regulatory institutions, and the relationships between them, are misunderstood. As a result, attempts to create new regulatory programs or mend under-performing ones are often poorly designed. Reorganizing Government explains how past approaches have failed to appreciate the full diversity of alternative approaches to organizing governmental authority. The authors illustrate the often neglected dimensional and functional aspects of inter-jurisdictional relations through in-depth explorations of several diverse case studies involving securities and banking regulation, food safety, pollution control, resource conservation, and terrorism prevention. This volume advances an analytical framework of governmental authority structured along three dimensions--centralization, overlap, and coordination. Camacho and Glicksman demonstrate how differentiating among these dimensions better illuminates the policy tradeoffs of organizational alternatives, and reduces the risk of regulatory failure. The book also explains how differentiating allocations of authority based on governmental function can lead to more effective regulation and governance. The authors illustrate the practical value of this framework for future reorganization efforts through the lens of climate change, an emerging and vital global policy challenge, and propose an "adaptive governance" infrastructure that could allow policy makers to embed the creation, evaluation, and adjustment of the organization of regulatory institutions into the democratic process itself.
International Sales Law
by Ingeborg Schwenzer; Christiana Fountoulakis; Mariel Dimsey
Publication Date: 2019-04-18
This is the third edition of the casebook providing an article-by-article analysis of the CISG Convention. Offering a fully updated range of materials, this casebook is an excellent starting point for learning about the Convention and will be particularly useful for international trade lawyers, practitioners and students. The commentary on each article is accompanied by extracts from cases and associated comparative materials, as well as references to important trade usages such as the INCOTERMS¿ 2010. The book features an updated selection of the most significant cases, each of which has been abridged to enable the reader to focus on its essential features and the relevant questions arising from it. The case extracts are accompanied by a comprehensive overview of parallel provisions in other international instruments, uniform projects and domestic laws. The analyses, cases, texts and questions are intended to aid readers in their comparative law and international sales law studies. They are designed to draw attention to the particular issues surrounding specific CISG provisions and to provoke careful consideration of possible solutions. The book is a reference work as well as an introduction to the individual problem areas. In particular, it acts as a preparatory work for the Willem C Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot. Sample questions and answers are also included, which make it particularly helpful for self-study purposes.
Added July 2019
Medicolegal Aspects of Marijuana
by Bernard A. Jocuns; Jay M. Tiftickjian; Paul Armentano
Publication Date: 2019-06-01
This edition includes updates of the attorney-client privilege and work product doctrine. Many of the previous chapters have been completely revised, while others have gone through a comprehensive rewrite. New and expanded topics include application of the revised federal rules and case law governing waiver of privilege, the pitfalls of privilege preservation and waiver in bankruptcy proceedings and international contexts, as well as the intersection of privilege and attorney/client-hired media consultants.
Research Handbook on the Law of Artificial Intelligence
by Woodrow Barfield (Editor); Ugo Pagallo (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018-12-28
The field of artificial intelligence (AI) has made tremendous advances in the last few decades, but as smart as AI is now, it is getting exponentially smarter and becoming more autonomous in its actions. This raises a host of challenges to current legal doctrine, including whether the output of AI entities should count as 'speech', the extent to which AI should be regulated under antitrust and criminal law statutes, and whether AI should be considered an independent agent and responsible for its actions under the law of tort or agency. Containing chapters written by leading U.S., EU, and International law scholars, the Research Handbook presents current law, statutes, and regulations on the role of law in an age of increasingly smart AI, addressing issues of law that are critical to the evolution of AI and its role in society. To provide a broad coverage of the topic, the Research Handbook draws upon free speech doctrine, criminal law, issues of data protection and privacy, legal rights for increasingly smart AI systems, and a discussion of jurisdiction for AI entities that will not be "content" to stay within the geographical boundaries of any nation state or be tied to a particular physical location. Using numerous examples and case studies, the chapter authors discuss the political and jurisdictional decisions that will have to be made as AI proliferates into society and transforms our government and social institutions. The Research Handbook will also introduce designers of artificially intelligent systems to the legal issues that apply to the make-up and use of AI from the technologies, algorithms, and analytical techniques. This essential guide to the U.S., EU, and other International law, regulations, and statutes which apply to the emerging field of "law and AI"will be a valuable reference for scholars and students interested in information and intellectual property law, privacy, and data protection as well as to legal theorists and social scientists who write about the future direction and implications of AI. The Research Handbook will also serve as an important reference for legal practitioners in different jurisdictions who may litigate disputes involving AI, and to computer scientists and engineers actively involved in the design and use of the next generation of AI systems.
Senate Procedure and Practice
by Martin B. Gold
Publication Date: 2018-05-14
The Senate is a place where political minorities and individual members hold great power, resting on authority drawn from Senate rules and over two hundred years of related precedents and traditions. The minority has and will always have a clear and important voice on issues brought to the Senate floor, and it is this distinction from the majority rule of the House that has enabled the Senate to work as well as it has since our democracy's inception. Now in its fourth edition, Senate Procedure and Practice explains why and how the Senate has worked for more than 200 years. It includes the updated modifications of procedures governing Senate debate, amendment rights, and the formation of conferences. The book is filled with fascinating stories and insights that highlight why certain rules are in place, how they are practiced, and the ways in which those practices have changed throughout history as our federal government and the needs of our electorate have evolved. Anyone with an interest in the pillars of Senate procedure and practice will find a useful companion in this book.
by Elizabeth Kaufer Busch; William Thro
Publication Date: 2018-05-10
This book examines the history and evolution of Title IX, a landmark 1972 law prohibiting sex discrimination at educational institutions receiving federal funding. Elizabeth Kaufer Busch and William Thro illuminate the ways in which the interpretation and implementation of Title IX have been transformed over time to extend far beyond the law's relatively narrow statutory text. The analysis considers the impact of Title IX on athletics, sexual harassment, sexual assault, and, for a time, transgender discrimination. Combining legal and cultural perspectives and supported by primary documents, Title IX: The Transformation of Sex Discrimination in Education offers a balanced and insightful narrative of interest to anyone studying the history of sex discrimination, educational policy, and the law in the contemporary United States.
International Commercial Arbitration and Mediation in UNCITRAL Model Law Jurisdictions
by Peter Binder
Publication Date: 2019-04-22
International Commercial Arbitration and Mediation in UNCITRAL Model Law Jurisdictions Fourth Edition Dr Peter Binder This new edition of a classic text is so extensively revised and updated as to constitute a new book. It does, however, retain the tried and tested article-by-article structure of the previous three editions: it covers all the information needed when contemplating cross-border arbitration or mediation and enables a practitioner to ascertain what to expect in each jurisdiction. It remains the only book that provides a complete overview of all the adopting jurisdictions (now 111) at one glance, with a description of the legislation in these jurisdictions counterbalanced by court rulings to demonstrate how matters are dealt with in everyday practice. The popular adoption chart matrix unique to this book has been further enhanced and updated. Featuring the first full commentary on the newly released 2018 UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Mediation (including its revolutionary regime for the enforcement of settlement agreements reached by means of mediation) and an update of all case law on UNCITRAL texts (CLOUT) to date, the fourth edition provides explicit expert guidance on such matters as the following: overview of each jurisdiction that has enacted the Model Laws; provisions in a particular national Model Law enactment to be watched out for; how a particular issue dealt with in a Model Law enacting jurisdiction has been handled by local courts; and which jurisdictions can be safely recommended in arbitration or mediation clauses in international commercial agreements. Both of the Model Laws are reproduced in full in an appendix. With an examination of each provision's legislative history as well as national and subnational adoptions of the Model Laws, this work provides a complete picture of global practice in international arbitration and mediation as it exists today, taking full account of emerging trends in the enactment process and in case law. Business people who agree to arbitrate in one of the 111 recognized Model Law jurisdictions can rely on a secure minimum of rights in the arbitral proceedings and run less risk of being surprised by unwelcome peculiarities of local law. International litigation lawyers, arbitrators, and in-house lawyers who are considering arbitrating or mediating in one of the 111 jurisdictions analysed, academics in international ADR, and national government officials dealing with cross-border trade will benefit enormously from this new edition.
An Introduction to Law and Economics
by A. Michael Polinsky
Publication Date: 2018-07-17
Distinguished by brevity, lucid writing, and well-chosen examples, An Introduction to Law and Economics, now in its Fifth Edition, focuses on a set of core topics that include property, contracts, torts, criminal law, and litigation. Avoiding specialized jargon and mathematics, Polinsky teaches students how to think like an economist and understand legal issues from an economic perspective. New to the Fifth Edition: A streamlining of the products liability chapter A revised discussion of the redistributive effects of legal rules to reflect more recent scholarship on this topic The addition of several other refinements in the text and in new footnotes An updated bibliography Professors and students will benefit from: Solid coverage of relevant economic principles A normative approach that illustrates how to assess legal rules and policies in terms of economic and social goals Clear explanations of concepts
Added June 2019
Law Professor and Accidental Historian
by Ediberto Román (Editor)
Call Number: KF373.O44L39 2017
Publication Date: 2017-12-30
Law Professor and Accidental Historian is a timely and important reader addressing many of the most hotly debated domestic policy issues of our times - immigration policy, education law, and diversity. Specifically, this book examines the works of one of the country's leading scholars, Professor Michael A. Olivas. Many of the academy's most respected immigration, civil rights, legal history, and education law scholars agreed to partake in this important venture, and have contributed provocative and exquisite chapters covering these cutting-edge issues. Each chapter interestingly demonstrates that Olivas's works are not only thoughtful, brilliantly written, and thoroughly researched, but almost every Olivas article examined has an uncanny ability to predict issues that policy-makers failed to consider. Indeed, in several examples, the book highlights ongoing societal struggles on issues Professor Olivas had warned of long before they came into being. Perhaps with this book, our nation's policy-makers will more readily read and listen closely to Olivas's sagacious advice and prophetic predictions.
Finance for SMEs: European Regulation and Capital Markets Union
by Patrizio Messina
Call Number: KJE2432.M48 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-17
With the European Commission's announcement of the Capital Markets Union in 2016, a major step was at last taken to provide for the special needs of small and medium enterprises (SMEs). This book presents the first in-depth legal analysis of the challenges that SMEs have to face when managing their balance sheets and trying to attract investors, what alternative financing tools are most effective and how recent legislation reaches fair and convenient conditions for SMEs. The analysis focuses specifically on the Capital Markets Union structure and on other European initiatives that support and enhance SMEs' raising money on capital markets in order to better diversify their investments and plan a growth and development strategy. An updated description of the European framework is provided, together with references to relevant national systems. Issues and topics covered include the following: need for long-lasting access to funds; securitization for SMEs; SME Z-score; crowdfunding; and peer-to-peer, minibond and accounts receivables financing. Case study analyses furnish a deep understanding of the financial structures and their main features. Appendices include English texts of the main European Union (EU) legal documents pertaining to SMEs. For SMEs discouraged by over-regulation designed for larger businesses, and who find themselves in difficulties when they have to face the required process, this book will prove to be of immeasurable practical value. This book represents one of the first publications on SMEs and finance and contains data and information resulting from a deep and well-focused research on the topic. The added value of this study will allow the academics to understand the main issues related to this topic and will provide for a steady basis for further research and analysis with regards to law and economics for SMEs. Furthermore, it will be also warmly welcomed by practitioners in the area of SME financing and will be useful to support them in the selection of the most appropriate tools for their clients. Banks and interested EU officials will also value its clear and straightforward approach to the subject.
The U. S. Naval Institute on Military Justice
by Chris Bray
Call Number: KF7650.U55 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-15
Justice and discipline have shaped the U.S. Navy since the inception of the American Republic. In the early Navy, sailors were mostly drawn from the lowest socioeconomic classes and often brutally disciplined through sheer physical domination by upper-class officers. By the 1970s, naval officers were wondering in public forums if discipline should be managed through non-coercive measures, arguing that sailors should be treated like lawyers or other members of a professional guild. In readings selected from Navy and Marine Corps leaders with direct experience in the naval justice system, this book shows how the Navy court-martial has changed over the decades, and how it hasn't, revealing the purpose and meaning of justice and discipline in the American sea services.
A Legal Analysis of NGOs and European Civil Society
by Piotr Staszczyk
Call Number: JZ4841.S72 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-13
Amid widespread awareness and discussion of "the democratic deficit" and "shrinking civil space," the role of nongovernmental organizations (NGOs) becomes increasingly important. Yet the precise legal status of such bodies is ill-defined. Here, for the first time, is a thorough commentary and analysis of the position of NGOs and European civil society in the European Union (EU) constitutional system, bringing to the fore existing and desirable means of public participation in EU lawmaking. Recognizing that NGOs have historically been designed to meet the ends of civil society, the analysis focuses on the following topics and issues: means in EU law of advocating for the collective interests of civil society; unofficial means of influencing the EU institutions; access to documents and the European Citizens' Initiative as means of exerting pressure on EU legislation; relations between the EU institutions and NGOs, including lobbying activities; bringing actions in the common good before courts and other institutions; the special role of NGOs in environmental protection; complaints to the Commission and the European Ombudsman; EU funding for NGOs; and transboundary philanthropy. Drawing on a broad spectrum of sources of law, including CJEU case law and relevant legal literature, the book offers insightful proposals leading to the democratization of the EU's internal procedures that will allow enhanced cooperation of civil society representatives across national borders. In its thorough examination of legal tools that can respond to the "democratic deficit," this book makes a distinctive contribution to the public debate on the future of the European Union, especially in the context of emerging threats to further integration. It will prove of great value not only to civil activists, academics and policymakers but also to everyone interested in European integration and affordance for social participation.
The Scales of Weighing Regulatory Costs
by Jamison E. Colburn
Call Number: K3400.C65 2018
Publication Date: 2018-11-30
This book examines the calculation and evaluation of regulatory costs by regulators in accordance with a legislative mandate. A serious limitation in that enterprise, the possibility of technological change and innovation, often compromises those efforts and has long been under-appreciated in standard 'cost-benefit analysis.' Regulators who study the inducement of innovation and the avoidance of regulatory costs by the regulated often find significant cost-saving opportunities, leading to more stringent and more effective risk governance. Ultimately, the weighing of costs in this more elaborate model is more than simple welfare maximization. It views regulatory costs as important to society for a range of reasons, some grounded in fairness and some in deliberative process values, as a society seeks to minimize all costs over time. This analysis places the weighing of regulatory costs in context by comparing cost calculation methods and evaluative tools in three illuminating case studies. It assesses cost-factoring methods under different normative frameworks and highlights the role of technological innovation in cost minimization over time while considering regulatory costs that result from multiple regulatory tool choices. A single regulatory cost investigation is tracked from agency to legislative back to agency choice, outlining the steps to consensus-oriented cost factoring methods.Academic and professional lawyers in fields like environmental protection, food and drug safety, and workplace safety will find this an invaluable resource, as will researchers in disciplines dealing with judicial choice from economic or political theoretical frameworks and regulatory agencies charged with regulating risks.
by Linda H. Edwards
Call Number: KF250.E38 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
Legal Writing: Process, Analysis, and Organization, Seventh Edition by the 2017 Burton Award recipient and renowned author, Linda Edwards, is the only legal writing text that uses a process approach, presenting writing as a logical sequence of steps. Streamlined to meet the needs of today's students, the Seventh Edition uses adult learning theory concepts and a "flipped classroom" approach to add even greater focus and efficiency to classroom and study time. Key Features: New Chapter (4) on working with statutes. Updated chapter on citation Improved coverage of brief-writing Streamlined chapter on letter writing to better meet the need of a first-year course. Modern process approach, with streamlined content for better absorption by students Clear and informal language Helpful appendices offering sample of office memos, sample letters, and appellate briefs.
by Jessica Lynn Wherry; Kristen E. Murray
Call Number: KF250.C528 2019
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
The Military Divorce Handbook
by Mark E. Sullivan
Call Number: KF535.S85 2019 v.2
Handling divorce and family law cases involving service members has never been more timely, and the unique factors involved in representing these cases will affect nearly all family and general practice lawyers. This practical resource covers all aspects of representing service members and their spouses in divorce in an accessible, easy-to-use format, and includes numerous Practice Tips, forms and appendices. Topics include the Service members Civil Relief Act, custody, domestic violence, tax issues, and the division of military retirement benefits.
The Military Divorce Handbook
by Mark E. Sullivan
Call Number: KF535.S85 2019 v.1
Handling divorce and family law cases involving service members has never been more timely, and the unique factors involved in representing these cases will affect nearly all family and general practice lawyers. This practical resource covers all aspects of representing service members and their spouses in divorce in an accessible, easy-to-use format, and includes numerous Practice Tips, forms and appendices. Topics include the Service members Civil Relief Act, custody, domestic violence, tax issues, and the division of military retirement benefits. Includes forms CD-ROM.
Negotiating the Power of NGOs
by Reem Wael; HarassMap (Organization) Staff (Contribution by); Reem Mahmoud
Call Number: KTL522.W34 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-11
This book focuses on the socio-political environment that allows for the impactful work of NGOs through their proximity to local communities. The book showcases how this space has helped South African women's rights NGOs to bring about crucial legal reforms, which are quite relevant to women's lived realities. Recognizing its limitations, the South African state encourages NGOs to work freely on the ground and with state institutions to ameliorate the conditions for women's rights. The outcome of this state-NGO dynamic can be seen in the numerous human rights gains achieved by NGOs in general, and by women's rights organizations specifically. In addition, vulnerable communities such as women living under customary law have a significantly better chance to access justice. The book then demonstrates the opposite scenario, using Egypt as a case study, where NGOs are viewed as a national threat, and consequently operate under restrictive rules.
The Shield of Silence
by Lauren Stiller Rikleen
Call Number: HD6060.5.U5R55 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-26
The Shield of Silence compellingly argues that sexual harassment and other negative behaviors will not be stopped unless the condition that drives victims and bystanders into silence - the overriding fear that reporting misconduct will result in retaliation - is eliminated. Combining fascinating research, extensive interviews, and strategic recommendations for addressing workplace misconduct, it is a must-read for anyone interested in the ongoing conversation about what's acceptable, and what isn't, in the workplace. This book combines fascinating research, extensive interviews, and strategic recommendations for addressing workplace misconduct. Its premise is that sexual harassment and other negative behaviors will not be stopped unless the condition that drives victims and bystanders into silence - the overriding fear that reporting misconduct will result in retaliation - is eliminated