Skip to main content

Montague Law Library 20/21 Academic Year Operations

Penn State Law Montague Law Library 20/21 Academic Year Operations 

As of November 24, 2020 at 10:00 PM, the Law Library will be closed. When the Spring 2021 semester begins, the Law Library will be open for Law and SIA student study space Monday through Friday between the hours of 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM. All other Law Library services will be provided virtually during regular business hours Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM. For a quick look at Law Library services for the 20/21 Academic year, please see the Frequently Asked Questions below. More information about each of these topics will be available on the subpages linked below and in the left navigation. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Law Library Services 

1. How do I contact the Law Library? 

Please send all inquiries to library@pennstatelaw.psu.edu and a Law Library staff member will respond to you shortly. Any inquiries sent during regular business hours Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM will be answered relatively quickly. For inquiries made outside of regular business hours, we will respond to you as soon as possible the next business day.

2. Can I come to the Law Library to study? 

As of November 24, 2020 at 10:00 PM the Law Library will be closed. When the Spring 2021 semester begins, the Law Library will be open for Law and SIA student study space Monday through Friday between the hours of 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM. In order to study in the Law Library, students must reserve a seat using our seat reservation system. Guidelines for reserving a seat in the library can be found here. You can book a seat by going to the library Student Resources page and clicking the button for Reserve a Seat. Instructions for reserving a seat on your computer are available here and on your mobile device hereBecause Law Library seating will be significantly limited, please reserve a seat before entering the Law Library to ensure that a seat is available for you. 

3. Is the Law Library open to the general public? 

No. At this time, the Law Library is closed to anyone outside of the Law and SIA community. This includes other Penn State students, faculty, and staff, as well as the general public. Only Law and SIA students, faculty, and staff are permitted to enter both the Katz Building and the Law Library. 

4. Do I need to wear a mask in the Law Library?

Yes. Masks are required to be worn correctly everywhere in the Katz Building, including the Law Library.  

5. Can I book a group study room?

No, group study rooms are not available at this time in order to ensure proper social distancing. The group study rooms have been repurposed for other Law Library uses. 

6. Will the Law Library study spaces be disinfected? 

The Katz Building, including the Law Library, will be cleaned at the end of each day. It is the student's responsibility to keep the study space that they have reserved clean. Disinfectant stations will be placed throughout the Law Library with disinfectant wipes that can be used to clean the study spaces. We recommend that you clean your reserved study space when you arrive and again before you leave. 

7. Will the Law Library offer regular services and reference meetings with law librarians? 

The Law Library will offer virtual services during regular business hours, Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM for the majority of its regular services, such as reference meetings, help with accessing library materials and resources, troubleshooting password issues, and other inquiries. If you'd like to set up a reference meeting with a law librarian or need Law Library services, please email library@pennstatelaw.psu.edu and a Law Library staff member will respond to you shortly via regular business hours. 

8. Can I use one of the Law Library public computers and book scanner? 

When the Spring 2021 semester begins, there will still be access to a limited number of public computers and the book scanner in the Law Library. Please disinfect the computers and book scanner before and after you use them. 

9. Will printing services be available in the Law Library?

When the Spring 2021 semester begins, there will still be access to a printer in the Law Library, however, Penn State has changed its printer services over the summer to a cloud-based system called WEPA. Due to this change there will no longer be a free printing allotment for students. The printer will be located near the bottom of the 2nd floor Law Library stairs and is now on a cloud based system so students can print from their own devices. More information how to print, scan, print, and purchase pages can be found here

For more information about Law Library Services, please click here

Access to Online/Electronic Resources

1. Can I access Law Library Databases remotely? 

Yes. All Law Library databases, such as Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law, as well as all other Law Library databases are accessible remotely. Click here to see the Law Library A-Z database list. In addition, Penn State Law students have access to all databases that the main University Libraries subscribes to which are available on the main library A-Z database list available here

2. If I have an issue with one of my database passwords, who should I contact? 

If you have an issue with one of your database passwords, please email library@pennstatelaw.psu.edu

For more information about access to online/electronic resources, please click here. 

Textbooks & Course Materials

1. Will the Law Library have my textbooks available? 

No, in accordance with the Law Library Textbook Acquisition Policy, textbooks are not provided for students. Students should purchase any textbooks that are required for their courses. 

2. Will textbook publishers make digital copies of textbooks available for free?

As far as we know, textbook publishers will not be making digital copies of their textbooks available for free. If you are concerned about being separated from your textbooks if there is a return to remote only instruction, we encourage you to purchase an ebook or other digital version of your book or take your textbooks with you if you travel. 

3. How will I access materials on Course Reserves? 

All Course Reserves will be available electronically and should be linked in your Canvas course page. If you have any issues locating your Course Reserve Materials, please email library@pennstatelaw.psu.edu and a law library staff member will assist. 

For more information about textbooks, please click here

Accessing and Requesting Books and Interlibrary Loans 

1. Can I access the books in the Law Library? 

At this time and in accordance with the main University Libraries policy, the Law Library stacks will be closed and books and other materials should not be accessed directly by students. If you need a book from the Law Library, please place a hold on the item through the Law Library Catalog by clicking "I Want It" or contact library@pennstatelaw.psu.edu and a member of the Law Library staff will assist you. 

2. How do I pick up materials from the Law Library? 

For students after November 24th: Contactless pick up service at the law library will be suspended Wednesday, November 25th, 2020 through Sunday, January 17th, 2021. If you would like to pick up library material during this time period, please select "University Park Library Pickup - Pattee/Paterno Curtain Rd Entrance" when placing holds in the catalog.  Items requested via ILLiad will continue to arrive at the law library.  To change your pickup location for this service, log into your ILLiad account and click Update Account Preferences and select Pattee Common Services Desk.  If you have any questions, please contact us at library@pennstatelaw.psu.edu. 

When your requested material has arrived at the law library you will receive an email with information on how to pickup your item(s).  If you would like to borrow materials located in the Law Library or if you are not sure where your materials are located, please email library@pennstatelaw.psu.edu and we will help you determine where the materials are located and the correct pick-up location.  

3. Will interlibrary loan be available? 

Requests for scanned material will depend on the hours and services at lending libraries that are not affiliated with Penn State. We will do our best to fill as many ILL requests as possible, but please understand that services from outside libraries may be limited. If we are unable to obtain the item you requested via ILL, a member of the Law Library staff will contact you. If you have questions about ILLs, please email library@pennstatelaw.psu.edu and a Law Library staff member will contact you. 

4. How do I return books?

Please return all books to the book drop outside the Law Library doors. After Tuesday, November 24th please return library material to the bookdrop located at Pattee/Paterno Library (Curtain Rd entrance.)

For more information about accessing and returning library materials and interlibrary loan, please click here