International commercial arbitration is the process of resolving business disputes between or among transnational parties through the use of one or more arbitrators rather than through the courts. It requires the agreement of the parties, which is usually given via an arbitration clause that is inserted into the contract or business agreement. -- ASIL e-RG on International Commercial Arbitration
Kimberli M. Kelmor
Assistant Director of the Law Library
kam59@psu.edu
S.I. Strong, Research and Practice in International Commercial Arbitration, Sources and Strategies (2009). (Penn State Only)
Reference: K2400.S66 2009
An insider's guide to the strategies associated with researching international commercial arbitration as well as detailed treatment of its unique sources of law.
Gary Born, International Commercial Arbitration, 3rd ed.
Online (Penn State Only)
A three volume treatise that aspires to provide a comprehensive description and analysis of the contemporary constitutional structure, law, practice and policy of international commercial arbitration.
Kluwer Arbitration (Penn State Only)
KluwerArbitration.com is a comprehensive database of international commercial arbitration primary and secondary materials. It is produced by Kluwer law International in association with the Institute for Transnational Arbitration and the International Council of Commercial Arbitration. It contains full text of almost 1,700 bilateral investment treaties, over 5,400 court decisions, and 1,800 arbitral awards. The database also includes major treatises and journals, news, blogs, and time saving practice materials.
Transnational Dispute Management (Penn State Only)
TDM publishes an online journal featuring peer-reviewed articles covering all aspects of transnational commercial dispute resolution. TDM also maintains a growing database of legal materials, which includes arbitral awards, national laws, and court decisions
Westlaw International Arbitration Materials (Law School Only)
Westlaw contains many types of international arbitration materials from awards to treaties.
Foreign and International Arbitration
K 2400-2405
K 7690
KZ 6115-6299