United States Government - Administrative & Executive Resources: Regulations

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each volume of the CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued on a quarterly basis. GPO Access covers 1996 through the current year.

Provides access to federal regulatory content. Users can search all publicly available regulatory materials, (e.g., posted public comments, supporting analyses, FR notices, and rules); submit comments on a regulation; submit an applications or adjudication document; download agencies regulatory materials; sign up for email alerts about a specific regulations; and access regulations that are trending, newly posted or closing soon.

Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. GPO Access provides coverage from 1994-current.

The List of CFR Sections Affected lists proposed, new, and amended Federal regulations that have been published in the Federal Register since the most recent revision date of a CFR title. Each LSA issue is cumulative and contains the CFR part and section numbers, a description of its status (e.g., amended, confirmed, revised), and the Federal Register page number where the change(s) may be found. It is published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration.
NOTE: The LSA is issued monthly; however, on GPO Access, the LSA also contains three supplemental services: the List of CFR Parts Affected Today, Current List of CFR Parts Affected, and Last Month’s List of CFR Parts Affected. GPO Access covers 1986 through the current year.

This is the primary location, whether it be online or in print, to keep up to date on of all of the substantive actions of the Executive branch and Congress.